Paan khaye saiyyan hamaro!

Saawari suratiya honth laal laal!

This could very well describe Chinmay, my fiance and to-be husband who loves a good paan. For those wondering where I have been holed up till now, I have been running helter skelter for my wedding preparations. Getting married on Christmas this year! And thank you Anu for noticing that I have been absent; at least someone missed me 😐 Hehe, ok then, getting back to business!

The film isΒ Teesri KasamΒ that had the very beautiful Waheeda Rehman and superstar Raj Kapoor. Β She is a nautankiΒ dancer and he is a gaon-walaΒ who happens to give her a lift on her way to a performance. Despite being (or maybe because of) a very offbeat film, it bombed at the box office. But rightfully received the President’s Gold Medal in 1967 as the Best Film, as says Upperstall.

Based on a short story ‘Mare Gaye Gulfam’ by Phanishwar Nath, the film was made in black and white even though other films of the same period were made in colour. Why? Because producer Shailendra and director Basu Bhattacharya wanted it to have a feel of the days gone by. I personally think it was quite brave of them to go ahead with a black and white film when every other film was being made in colour.

Upperstall has also quite a few bits of trivia on the film – it was Mehmood and Meena Kumari that were initially chosen for the two roles – and I wonder if that had been more appropriate but I somehow doubt it. For one, Mehmood is difficult to take seriously though he is an actor of tremendous potential. And Meena Kumari? Somehow, I just don’t see in her as the same vivacious dancer that I see in pain khaye. So sue me!

I also read (and found on Madhulika’s blog a better version) another piece of trivia. Shailendra and Raj Kapoor were friends for a really long time. And when the former approached the star to suggest he act in his film, RK asks for an advance which really peeves Shailendra off. And RK then tells him, “Nikaalo ek rupaiya, mera paarishramik! Poora advance!”

How generous is that? Not to mention witty!

I am not a big RK fan, but just for the story, it’s worth a watch πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Neha. Bookmark the permalink.

18 thoughts on “Paan khaye saiyyan hamaro!

  1. congratulations on your impending nuptials!
    Teesri Kasam is one of the movies where every song is a gem – wonderful music with earthy touch! Shailendra’s lyrics are evergreen – Sajan re jhoot mat bolo!! A great thing about the film is that there is no actual romance but just developing feelings. This is one of the best movies of Basu Bhattacharya – later he became too consciously arty!

  2. Hahahaha!
    Love the way you introduced your ‘groom’ to us as ‘paan khaye saiyaan hamaro’. πŸ˜€
    Congratulations!!
    What a way to start 2012.
    Does this mean we won’t be seeing much (or hardly ever) of you on your blog?

    Teesri Kasam is one of my all time favourite films. And the songs?? Fabulous.

    No. Meena Kumari would never have suited this role. Not at that stage in her life where she had put on so much weight.

    • No P, it doesn’t mean you’d be seeing any less of me! I am unemployed right now, so I have no other work πŸ˜›
      Keep reading, and thanks for your wishes!

  3. I’m glad to see that my comment brouhgt you back! (Well, probably not, but still, I can be quite delusional πŸ˜‰ ) What a nice song too… I loved Teesri Kasam (story, direction, acting, music – there wasn’t a thing I didn’t like!), but much as I love Meena Kumari, she was no dancer, and could definitely not have pulled off a role that required dances. And Mehmood? *Sniff* I, for one, am glad that RK took it on. I thought he was always the first choice.

    By the way, congratulations on your impending wedding. That news lets you off not having posted on your blog completely. πŸ™‚ All the best.

    • It did, it did Anu! I had wanted to write for so long, but there were two reasons I couldn’t. One was the slightly disturbing last post (;)) and the other was that I needed a little nudge, which you gave!
      Thank you for your congratulations πŸ™‚ Keep reading!

  4. Hi congrats in avance. This movie is not just about Pan khaye. There are some breattaking songs like hai gazab kahin tara toota or Mare gaye Gulfaam or Aa abhi jaa. Anyway I’m thankful atleast you tried writing on this film. You can still improve a lot on this subject in some later article. By the way Raj kapoor did not gave lift to waheeda in the movie but he was hired to carry her to a vlllage for a nautanki show.
    good to see you back
    cheers

    • Thank you Mr Awasthi for that correction! And yes, there are many other songs but this one is my favourite so I opened the post with it πŸ™‚
      Keep reading!

  5. Congratulations Neha !!

    I watched a TV programme years ago which mentioned that Dharmendra was the original choice for Raj Kapoor’s role. But he couldn’t spare dates for the movie. Raj stepped in to help his good friend.

    Unfortunately Shailendra ran into debts and passed away while the film was still being made. His greatness was in the fact that he approached another lyricist – Hasrat Jaipuri – for the songs speaks volumes of his simplicity and humility. Imagine this happening in today’s cut-throat world.

    • Shashi, thank you! πŸ™‚
      And you are right, I can’t imagine that happening with today’s film industry. For it’s very less about the film itself and more about the money, no?

  6. If Waheeda and Raj Kapoor were at their habitual best in the movie SJ were at par. All the songs in the Nautanki – Maare Gaye Gulfam, Aa abhija, Raat Dhalane Lagi and Paan Khaye will remain as few of the ever bests of SJ. Opting for Asha in Paan Khaaye for the playful throw of the lyrics that makes the song what it is is certainly a master stroke.
    It is said that Shailendra’s financial worries were aggravated by the use of fairly large orchestra – a norm for SJ , even in songs to be rendered in such simple milieu. We do feel sorry for his loss [which probably cost him life,too] but nonetheless enjoy every piece of orchestra used in each of the songs.

    • I think Asha was always a better option in this genre of songs i.e, not strictly classical. And you are right, she had that slight bit of cheek and playfulness in her voice which lent that extraordinary quality to that song that no other singer could probably give.

Leave a Reply

